Guy Rotherham award

The Improvement Foundationís Guy Rotherham Award celebrates quality improvement and better outcomes for patients.

The Guy Rotherham Award mirrors our vision for achieving high-quality healthcare and is a great opportunity to acknowledge the exceptional improvements that organisations and individuals are making across a range of services in primary and community care.

The award celebrates the work of Guy Rotherham who died in 2003. Guy was instrumental in setting up the National Primary Care Development Team, which was incorporated by the Improvement Foundation in 2006.

The Guy Rotherham Award is open to any NHS community-based team in the UK that is providing services to patients in primary care, including primary care trusts, general practices, community nursing teams, primary care consortia, or any other community-based NHS team.


2008 Awards - Winners announced!

The Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP, Secretary of State for Health, announced the winners of the Improvement Foundation's 2008 Guy Rotherham Award for their achievements in using quality techniques to provide outstanding services to patients.

The winners were announced at the NHS Alliance's 11th Annual Conference in Bournemouth. In 2008, there was one winner and three further ‘highly commended' entries. The winning team received an educational grant of £3,000 and was also invited to a ceremony at the Palace of Westminster. Three highly commended entries received a £1,000 education grant.



South Tyneside Intermediate Musculoskeletal Assessment and Treatment Service (STIMATS) won the Guy Rotherham Award for the excellent community-based musculoskeletal service it provides to the South Tyneside area. The service is implemented by a team of six clinicians, including physiotherapists, and is supported by South Tyneside Primary Care Trust. For further information on this entry, please click here to read the full case study.


Highly Commended  

The first highly commended award went to the B-clear Project Team for the B-clear Opportunistic Chlamydia Screening Service. The service is supported by Stoke-on-Trent PCT, North Staffordshire PCT, South Staffordshire PCT, Herefordshire PCT, Shropshire County PCT and Telford & Wrekin PCT. For further information on this entry, please click here to read the full case study.


 Highly Commended

The second highly commended award went to the Unique Care Team at St Lawrence Surgery in Worthing who implemented the 'Unique Care' coordinated approach between health, social care and other services. The team is supported by West Sussex PCT and West Sussex Social Care. For further information on this entry, please click here to read the full case study.


Highly Commended

The third highly commended award went to Bexley Care Trust for the development and implementation of a new Community Cardiology service for Bexley. The service is supported by North Bexley PBC (practice based commissioning) Consortium, Physiological Measurements Ltd (PML), and Dartford & Gravesham NHS Trust. For further information on this entry, please click here to read the full case study.


Previous awards

The Guy Rotherham awards began in 2005. Our first winner was Rhian Last who was instumental in implementing New Clinics at the Oakley Medical Centre in Leeds.  

In 2006, our award was shared by two successful entries: Dr Patrick Craig McFeely and his Practice Team, and Dr Neil Macey and his Practice Team. Both winners made impressive local improvements and we felt it appropriate to award them both.

The 2007 award went to St Benedict's Day Care Unit who had worked hard to improve the services they offer to patients. There were two additional 'Highly Commended' applications: the Extended Primary Care Gynaecology Service in South Manchester, and Salford Perinatal Mental Health Project.

We congratulate all winners and previous entries for their innovation, passion and efforts!